Wednesday, August 31, 2011

New leadership ushers in renewal during board of trustees August meeting

A multi-level change of leadership was on display during the Aug. 25 meeting of the Daytona State College District Board of Trustees.
Board Chair Dwight Lewis
In addition to the meeting being college President Carol Eaton’s first working session with the entire governing board, trustees also elected a new chair and re-elected its vice chair for a second term.
Dwight Lewis, DeLand, who was appointed to the board in April by Gov. Rick Scott, will serve as chair, replacing John Tanner, Flagler Beach.  Dr. Christina Frederick-Recascino, Ormond Beach, was re-elected to serve her second term as vice chair.
Vice Chair Christina Frederick-Recascino
While board members are appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms, trustees nominate and elect a board chair and vice chair annually. Trustee Mary Ann Haas, Flagler Beach, was nominated for both seats but withdrew from consideration, citing time constraints from outside professional commitments in the coming year. Board members then unanimously approved Lewis and Recascino for the slots.
Lewis, is a retired business owner and former Volusia County councilman who served two terms as County Council chairman. He complimented Tanner for his work this past year as the college’s board chair and encouraged fellow trustees to engage in healthy debate and commit to working in unity during the coming year. “We are all serving because of our love for this college and this community and we all need to never forget that,” he said.
Recascino is vice president for academics and research at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and was appointed to the Daytona State College board in June 2010. In accepting the vice chair position for a second term, she noted a renewed air of enthusiasm among those in the boardroom. “It’s very exciting, like when we all first start school in the fall and everybody has their new pencils,” she said. “I’m looking forward to working with you all and having a productive year.”
The board also paid tribute to Frank Lombardo, longtime mathematics faculty, senior vice president of academic affairs and interim president of the college, who retired this month upon Dr. Eaton beginning her tenure as president. Trustees unanimously approved a Resolution of Appreciation honoring Lombardo for his more than three decades of service to the college.