Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Notables. . .

Daytona State College President Carol Eaton recently was granted president emeritus status at Frederick Community College, Frederick, Md., where she was president for six years before joining Daytona State last year.

The Daytona State College Foundation reports that its Taste of the 24 event held in January at Daytona International Speedway during the Rolex 24 at Daytona was a grand success. More than 1,300 guests attended the event, according to Donna Sue Sanders, executive director of the Foundation. The event helped raise more than $66,000 after expenses to support student scholarships and campus growth initiatives, Sanders recently reported to the college’s District Board of Trustees.

Visit Dr. Ron Eaglin’s Adventure Racing blog as he shares his harrowing adventures during the 10th annual Patagonian Expedition Race, what some have called the wildest race in the world. The associate vice president of Daytona State’s School of Technology’s blog includes postings from the race, describing how his team has had to endure navigating a disabled kayak while traversing 10-foot seas during the early leg of the competition held last week. Unfortunately, the team was not able to complete the grueling course; however, Eaglin’s account of the event is nonetheless intriguing, inspiring and compelling. Eaglin, an avid adventure and endurance racer, was a member of Team Discovery and Research, one of only 20 teams in the world to be selected to participate in this prestigious 600-kilometer race that includes biking, trekking and kayaking, and took the competitors over mountains, through narrow fjords and along imposing glaciers before finishing at the southernmost point of the Americas.

Daytona State music student Raymond Milcarsky recently won the brass division of the Florida College System Activities Association Artist Competition in conjunction with that same organization’s annual Winter Music Symposium held this year at Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton. In addition to the immediate honor of being selected a winner from a pool of up to 20 other competitors from the Florida State College System, Raymond will receive a $1,000 scholarship, through the organization, to a Florida state university of his choice to continue his pursuit of a music degree. This year, two vocal students also competed for honors. Dwayne Williams, baritone, won the men's vocal category, while Coral Pitter, soprano, placed second (first honorable mention) in the women's division. Dwayne will receive a $1,000 per year scholarship to any university in the state of Florida. This award will be in addition to other scholarships he may be offered. "Dwayne and Coral are wonderful students and singers, and we are very proud of their accomplishments," said Dr. Norton Christeson, assistant chair of the School of Music, Entertainment and Art.