Friday, April 8, 2011

Margaret Crumley Award for Distinguished Achievement in Science recipient announced

Daytona State College alumna Vicki Collier Ehrhardt has been awarded the institution’s prestigious 2010 Margaret Crumley Award for Distinguished Achievement in Science.

Vicki Collier Ehrhardt
“Surely, in the history of the Science Department at Daytona State College, no one student has served her fellow students more capably or more sincerely,” said Dr. Sandra Horikami, chair of the college’s School of Biological and Physical Sciences.  “She is a colleague, mentor and friend to all those who know her.”

Mrs. Ehrhardt attended Daytona Beach Community College from 1975 to 1978 and again from 1981 to 1984, earning an associate of arts degree, an associate of science degree in Nursing, and a certificate in Operating Room Technology.  Between degrees, she served as operating room and post anesthesia director for Florida Health Care, Daytona Beach. She also worked her way through school as emergency staff nurse at University Hospital, Holly Hill, then as intensive surgical and intensive medical staff nurse at Halifax Health Medical Center, Daytona Beach. 
Later, she joined the Carolinas Institute School of Anesthesia, Charlotte, NC, then returned to Volusia County to become staff nurse anesthetist for Daytona Anesthesiology Associates at Halifax Health Medical Center.  She currently is a staff nurse anesthetist for Ambulatory Anesthesia Providers at Twin Lakes Medical Center, Daytona Beach.
During her studies at Daytona State, Mrs. Ehrhardt served as a work/study student employee and, in 1978, she co-authored the college’s Microbiology Laboratory Manual with her future husband, Professor Warren Ehrhardt.  From 1987 to 1988, she served the college as an adjunct instructor of Anatomy and Physiology. 
First awarded in 2001, the Crumley Award is presented annually to alumni who earned a science-related associate degree from the college, have used their scientific knowledge to improve their community, and who have distinguished themselves while working in their chosen scientific field.
Mrs. Crumley established the award to honor her son, John, and husband, Thomas. Award recipients are nominated and selected by faculty of the Daytona State College Science Department.
Past recipients are: Dr. Steven Miles (2001), radiologist, Halifax Hospital; Dr. Ralph Scorza (2002), biologist, U.S. Department of Agriculture; Dr. Ron Jenkins (2003), biochemist, U.S. Department of Agriculture; Dr. Sam Davis (2004), radiologist, Montgomery, W.Va.; Dr. James Greene (2005), assoc. vice president, Human and Public Services, Daytona State College; Dr. Linda Miles (2006), chair of the School of Nursing at Daytona State College; Mr. David Marsh (2007), retired TV weatherman; Mrs. Willa Fuller (2008), executive director of the Florida Nurses Association; and Dr. David Riban, Jr. (2009), pharmacist, Florida Hospital-Fish Memorial in Orange City, FL; and Ms. Theresa M. Jeter (2010), forensics laboratory researcher, UCF, Orlando.